Testimonies from the field: Rebuking the Insects

Burmese farmer
Burmese farmer

My name is “J”. I am 36 years old and have two daughters and one son. We had believed in Buddhism all our lives. My husband is a farmer and we all work together on the farm. On our farm we grow flowers, mainly: roses, daisies and broccoli vegetables. We sell our produce at a market seven miles away.

Last year some National Pioneers came to our farm telling us the good news. All our family were very glad to hear this good news. We renounced our former gods and worshipping Buddha. Then we believed in Jesus Christ as our Lord and Saviour, even though some our neighbours criticized us strongly.

Then, last month, unexpectedly a plague of insects came and tried to devour all our flowers and broccoli. It affected all our neighbours land also but they were able to buy liquor (spirits) to help kill the insects by spraying them.

We could not afford this treatment. Suddenly I remember what a National Pioneer leader said, “Our God can rebuke the devourer, trying to eat the fruits of your land (Malachi 3:11).” The next morning I woke up early and went to our farm. Holding the flowers and broccoli, I prayed: “Lord Jesus now we are in trouble with the insects destroying all our plants. We cannot afford the pesticide, as you know. Please hear my prayer and rebuke these insects from our land.”

While I was praying, one of my neighbours heard my voice as he was spraying these insects. He asked me, “What are you doing?” I answered him, “I am praying to my God to destroy the insects on our land. From that moment on, all the insects were gone from our farm. All our crops grew as normal, even though some our neighbours lost their crops to the plague. We really praise our Lord Jesus because he hears my prayers!

Leave a comment