Testimonies from the Field – Indonesia

Indonesian Man
Indonesian Man

Pray for some new believers, mostly youth, who have been imprisoned for nearly a month now due to “Christianising” Muslims in a small town in the west of the most populous island. Pray also for unity as a colleague has slandered another leader for creating “Rice Christians” through financial incentives. These lies cause confusion and distrust in communities of believers that are already under pressure from unbelievers and do not need the added stress of disunity and personal attacks from within.

From “Z”: This month I shared about the Prophet Noah and the Flood. One family were interested. They were initially interested because this story is different to the [Muslim] version they know. The problem is that they started telling this story to their neighbours who started asking questions and becoming suspicious. The owner of the house and the family want to know more though advised that I not come to their house for now but instead we meet at a secluded beach because he yearns to hear the “Good News”. Please pray for these three people.

From “A”:
This month I want to share about my meetings a woman “F”, which I believe was God-appointed. This woman asked me if she could stay a number of nights in my house because she was a travelling saleswoman. She was from a different part of the province and I felt a sense of peace about having her in my home because first I prayed about it. My prayer was that I would have an opportunity to share about the Great Commission of Jesus Christ. That night, F, sat down with me and told me her life story. She is 33 years old and has three children and was divorced by her husband.

Her need to work as a travelling saleswoman was because she needed to provide for herself and her children. She desperately wanted her husband to take her back because she and her children needed provision and care. She shared that she felt unable to carry her burden. At this point I said that there is a Helper who can free us from our problems, whether big or small, if we trust in Him. I asked her, “Have you ever heard of Isa Almasih (Jesus the Messiah)?” She said, “Yes, he is a prophet in Islam.” I continued, “He is not only a Prophet, he is our Saviour and Redeemer.” I went on to explain the original sin of Adam and Eve as the reason why we need a Holy Saviour and Redeemer. This lady was joyful and fascinated by this story, admitting that she was a sinner who had committed many sins against the Lord. To end our conversation, I offered to pray with her to Jesus the Messiah, as our redeemer and saviour. This lady willingly prayed with me. The next day she testified to feeling changed and free, with a sense of calm and peace that she had never before experienced. Since then she always asks me to pray for her. Now we are a family in Christ. Please pray for many more souls to be won.

From the “O” family:
This month we have had the opportunity to share the gospel through an unpleasant situation where our notebook computer was stolen from our house. It caused a lot of tension in the community. Some people felt sorry for us others felt anger towards the thief.
Initially we were very angry and disappointed, too, until we prayed. After prayer and reading Proverbs 6:30-31 (about God’s justice) we felt a great sense of peace and strength. We spoke these verses every day and prayed that the thief would repent because on the notebook were many Bible verse and messages. We also forgave the thief in our hearts and prayed that the person would come to know the Jesus mentioned so often in the Quran, yet who remained mostly unknown.
Since then, the incident of our stolen notebook has become a discussion point in the region. In fact, we have seen many miracles arising from the notebook theft. For example, in my travel agency (their reason for being in this Muslim area), many more people have been ordering airline tickets, including our neighbours. I have testified to everyone that God is just and never leaves or forsakes us. Those listening are amazed and attracted to our testimony of God’s grace and blessing, which gives us the opportunity to share about personal relationship with Christ. Even though many people mock us because of our joy in serving Christ, we believe that the spiritual truths we are planting will bear fruit and that a community of Jesus followers will emerge, because God’s word will achieve its purpose.

Leave a comment